top of page

3 Books for Murder Mystery Lovers

I'd like to consider myself a crime junkie of all three offenses. Those being television and movies, podcasts, and books. When I am not watching crime stories, I am listening to them, and if I get bored of that, I start reading about them. It is consuming, and frankly I wouldn't have it any other way. If you are like me and are constantly looking for more stories that make you scared of your own shadow, read on!


Someone We Know

Shari Lapena

This is definitely a book that will keep you engaged and wanting to know more throughout the whole book. Someone We Know, written by Shari Lapena, tells the story of a small town community that is shocked to their core by a local murder case. To make matters worse, a woman in the community received an anonymous letter detailing that someone was inside her house without her knowledge. Detectives scramble to interview suspects and gather as much information as they can, and uncover some other dark secrets along the way. This novel is filled with twists and turns that will keep you second guessing yourself the entire book. I was shocked by the ending of the book, it was not what I saw coming in the slightest. A person that I had my eye on throughout the duration of the book ended up being innocent which was bitter sweet for me. Overall, a must-read for to quench that murder mystery thirst!


The Guest List

Lucy Foley

This murder mystery takes place at a picture perfect wedding in Ireland. The bride is a magazine publisher and her groom is a rising television star. A stunning wedding made for a beautiful couple that most would be jealous of. However, as the night progresses problems start to arise and the guests start mingling which causes past memories to rise back up. I found myself struggling to like Jules this entire book. She is the kind of person that needs everything to be perfect- regardless of whether she is frustrating others in the process. However, I do agree that it is important that this was in the book as it definitely contributed to her fatal flaw and made the book that much more believable. This is a must-read and it is Reese approved which is a bonus!





Consuming Fire: An Alexa Silven Novel

C.B. Hoffmann

Luckily, this book was given to me through my internship. The great part about being sent books is that it really pushes me out of my comfort zone and encourages me to read books I wouldn't have normally chosen myself. Which is exactly what happened with C.B. Hoffmann's book, Consuming Fire: An Alexa Silven Novel. It tells the story of Alexa Silven, a former Olympic sharpshooter that gets entangled with a persistent blackmailer that knows way too much about her past. She races against the odds to uncover the identity of her blackmailer before he exposes the violence she has committed. Alexa has to balance her new career as a growing fashion designer and harness her past skills to be the blackmailer's chosen assassin. This book shows the power of forgiveness in even the darkest of situations. After I finished the book I found myself wondering what Alexa would do next which is a sign that a book left a lasting imprint. It is a fast-paced mystery novel and it definitely does not take long at all to build the action and suspense that makes this book so thrilling.

bottom of page