top of page

The Girl With The Louding Voice

Book Written By: Abi Daré


The Girl With The Louding Voice is the epitome of feeling all the feels. To be perfectly candid, I wasn't sure I would be able to read this book. It is rather ethnocentric of me to assume I won't like a book based merely on the fact that it isn't the typical Western story I've accustomed myself to. Regardless, I am so happy I ended up pushing myself outside of my comfort zone and away from my arrogant attitude to read this story. It is moving, inspiring, devastating, horrific, and happy all at once.


It's very ironic that the thing that almost stopped me from reading the book is actually the part I'm most grateful for after finishing the book. Although unfamiliar at first, Adunni's pidgin brings the story to life by explaining parts of life we take for granted in the most innocent and pure way. She recognizes details a native English speaker simply overlooks which adds an undeniable layer of depth to the story as a whole. Adunni's determination to pursue her dreams even in the hardest of situations is one of the reasons I found the book to be so inspiring. I really felt like Adunni and I were friends and she sat me down to tell me her entire life story- every tragic detail that fuels her unwavering strength.

Of course, I can't talk about Adunni without mentioning Tia. Although very naive at times, Tia and Adunni's friendship proved to be an anchor Adunni could hold onto while surviving the harsh abuse of Big Madam and Big Daddy. Without Tia, I worry Adunni would have struggled writing the essay needed to get the scholarship and who knows what would have happened then.


I was disappointed Big Madam never came to her senses and remained abusive and bitter even until the very end. The way Adunni gave her multiple chances, even after all of the abuse and neglect she endured, speaks volumes about her willingness to show others kindness- even if it is to a fault. Even though I wanted her and Adunni to have a better goodbye, one that signified even an ounce of remorse or guilt on Big Madam's end, I understand why that didn't happen. Big Madam's presence was pivotal and I think Adunni's resentment towards her boss gave her the motivation to sneak away and spend time with Tia.


I don't care who you are, you need to read this book. Adunni's powerful, brave, and resounding voice makes this book emotional and raw. I am so grateful I could read a book that spoke about the dangerous patriarchy in Nigeria through the captivating story of Adunni.




bottom of page