top of page

"Behind Closed Doors": A True Page-Turner


Jack and Grace are the couple everyone dreams to one day be a part of. Jack is handsome, successful, spoils Grace, and cares so deeply about Grace's sister, Millie. Women are always jealous of Grace and her slim figure, cooking abilities, and poise. Esther, a new friend in town, would like to get to know Grace better. However, wherever Grace goes, Jack seems to be right behind her. Always accompanying her to lunch dates and never letting her go beyond earshot without him. Esther starts to question their perfect relationship and soon uncovers this dreamy couple may actually be a nightmare.


I simply could not put this book down! This was the ultimate page turner. I was very disturbed while reading this book. There were certain parts where we truly understand how manipulative Jack is. When he leads Grace to believe she has come up with her dream house when in reality, he already knew what the house looked like and encouraged her to think of the house that already existed. Definitely dark, but if I am being honest, truly genius. I was incredibly nervous that Grace would not pull off her large plan. I was almost sure Jack would have miraculously beat her to Thailand, or he would be arriving shortly after her. Grace somehow managed to kill Jack, with the help of Millie of course.


It was very scary that Jack wanted to abuse Millie because she had Down Syndrome. This part was probably the most disturbing of the entire book. Especially when he pushed Millie down a flight of stairs at their wedding. Jack is not the only mastermind of this book- Millie is the reason Grace had enough pills to drug Jack. She is one of the people that saved her life.

On to the next person that helped save Grace's life, Esther. Oh my goodness, this book made me want a friend like Esther. She is so observant! How were her other friends that oblivious? I mean seriously, Jack following Grace everywhere was ridiculous. My friends seem to get frustrated with me if my boyfriend tags along everywhere and they are not afraid to tell me. Maybe being married is different but I found her other friend to be wildly oblivious. Esther is that woman that everyone wants to be friends with. I mean, she single-handedly saved Grace from a life in prison. Without Esther, I don't think anyone would have believed Grace in the state she was in. Just like no one believed her in Thailand when she ran to the hotel staff and begged for someone to save her.


Overall, this book is a must-read if you're looking for a thriller that isn't too scary. It has many twists and turns that are unexpected and it is hard to put down. It shows us the importance of friendship and sisterhood in a way that could literally be life-changing. This should definitely be on your list to read next.

bottom of page